EXSite.pl - Portal ze wszystkim Mamy tutaj wszystko

Przypomnij hasło X

Junior Wells - Live At Nightstage (2007) DVD5

Dodał: rgajowy 21 Luty 2013 14:08

Junior Wells - Live At Nightstage (2007) DVD5

Junior Wells - Live At Nightstage (2007)  DVD5

Junior Wells - Live At Nightstage (2007)  DVD5
Video: NTSC, MPEG-2 at 5 445 Kbps, 720 x 480 (1.333) at 29.970 fps | Audio: PCM 2 channels at 1 536 Kbps, 48.0 KHz
Genre: Blues | Label: Sony Music | Copy: Untouched | Release Date: 22 Sep 2007 | Runtime: 71 min. | 4,34 GB

Buddy Guy coaxes the audience to go along with him and Junior Wells way down deep, and way back to the rawest roots of urban blues in a tribute to Muddy Waters. The tune begins with silence – the room is dead. And you suddenly realize that Guy is plucking out barely audible chordal accompaniment on his guitar, anticipating Wells’ murderously bittersweet harmonica bends and subtle lines. They slink along together as the rest of the band comes in to offer support. Wells’ voice emerges quietly, but right from the beginning it seems to traverse the full range of a blues voice, as if multiple bluesmen were all being channeled at once – we get soft and sweetly melancholy, gut-wrenching scoops, growls, shouts and all the rest you can imagine. As Wells gets louder, Guy ripples along just beneath with a crazy string of electric guitar vibrato-laden bends. The two continue throughout to act as three voices in a contemplative conversation – Guys’ guitar, and both Wells’ versatile voice and stunning ultra treble-range harmonica licks. But it’s not all reverie – there is a good bit of revelry, too, and classic showmanship (especially from Guy) as the two joke back and forth, alternately breaking the mood and bringing it back when they’re ready.
In Junior Wells: Live at Nightstage, part of Image Entertainment’s “Blues Legends” series, producer and director John McDermott has captured a rich, 71 – minute moment in the long-time collaboration of two of contemporary blues’ most talented performers. Wells, born as Amos Blakemore, grew up in the heart of the Memphis blues scene. He earned his first claim to fame in 1952 when Wells replaced Little Walter in Muddy Waters’ band. Buddy Guy got the attention of many more mainstream artists during his early stint as a session guitarist at Chess, and his friendship with Wells began in 1958 during his tenure at the 708 club. Thought the two toured together regularly for 30 years, most of their June 15, 1986 performance at Nightstage in Cambridge, MA had never been previously released before this DVD.
Live at Nightstage is a raw presentation of a raw musical form. There is no post-processing of the sound from the stage, and the video quality is rather poor by today’s standards – but remember, this was 1986. The backing band kicks off the show with the rolling groove of (but unfortunately we are not told anywhere who these people are). Guy creeps onto stage for a straight-up slinky guitar solo in “Crazy About You” and his frenetic bursts of distorted lead guitar wander in and outside of the musical lines on “I Just Want to Make Love to You.” You sometimes find yourself wondering if he’ll ever get back – but he does, of course. Wells comes in with crystal harmonica arpeggios and a rumbling, growling vocal on “Everything’s Gonna Be Alright.” The two are together for the remainder of the disk, which includes “Tribute to Muddy Waters,” “Trouble No More,” Little Walter’s “Juke,” Sonny Boy Williamson’s “My Younger Days,” “Got My Mojo Workin’.” They finish the Nightstage performance off with a tribute to James Brown on “Super Bad,” and “I Got You (I Feel Good).” Special features include the additional performances of “Little By Little,” and “Better Than I Love Myself” (which, for some reason, are separated out from the rest of Live at Nightstage) and Don Wilcock’s backstage interview with Wells and Guy from March 11, 1989 at The Channel in Boston. McDermott’s 6 pages of liner notes also lays out the history of the Guy and Wells story.
I think whenever two great artists collaborate, especially for years at a time, and their work is presented with as little tampering is possible, it is worth a listen. As McDermott describes, Wells and Guy parted ways shortly after this performance; subsequently, Junior continued to tour and record until his death in January 1998 and Guy went on to be inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame in 2005. Nevertheless, in Live At Nightstage we have the vibrant mark of a moment, and through it the confluence of two monumental talents lingers on.

01. Look Over Yonder Wall
02. Crazy About You
03. I Just Want To Make Love To You
04. Everything's Gonna Be All Right
05. Tribute To Muddy Waters
06. Trouble No More
07. Juke
08. My Younger Days
09. Got My Mojo Workin'
10. Super Bad
11. I Got You
Bonus Tracks
12. Little By Little
13. Backstage Interview (bonus feature) - Junior Wells & Buddy Guy

- Direct Scene Access
- Interactive Menu

Junior Wells - Live At Nightstage (2007)  DVD5
Junior Wells - Live At Nightstage (2007)  DVD5

Junior Wells - Live At Nightstage (2007)  DVD5

Junior Wells - Live At Nightstage (2007)  DVD5
Uwaga! Linki nie zakodowane tylko dla zarejestrowanych użytkowników!

Nie masz konta? Zarejestruj się za darmo!
Links are not encoded only for registered users only! Plese login or register!

Zobacz inne moje newsy na EXSite.pl


Jeżeli chcesz skomentować artykuł musisz być zarejestrowany na stronie.